Day 46 - Minooka to Indiana Dunes - C2C - from Westport, Washington to Sandy Hook, New Jersey - CycleBlaze

July 18, 2016

Day 46 - Minooka to Indiana Dunes

O.K.
I am somewhat recombobulated.

I ate everything on the breakfast buffet - -
And took a banana Axel Foley.

Muggy, sticky, steamy.
I zigged my way into Joliet and got to Union Station.
But it is now a ballroom and locked.

Joliet Union Station with Lucy in Front
(And the Humidity - You Can Actually See It !!!)
Heart 0 Comment 0

Next up was the Old Plank Road Trail.
20 miles of urban greenway - shaded - quiet.
With sufficient cracks to give your tailbone a thumping.

Prairie Restoration near Joliet
Heart 2 Comment 0

I had to connect to Indiana via city streets in Chicago Heights.
Not impossible, but not terribly fun, either.
I mean, really now - -
90 degrees, broken pavement, lots of traffic.
Not THAT is what I call fun.

The rail trail I was counting on in Indiana was torn up.
You see - they are building a new development.
I’m waiting for the day when they do that to a highway -
And leave drivers with no place to go.

I did manage two more rail trails in Indiana.
The Oak Savannah Trail is an oasis of trees and calm.
I got a big chocolate milkshake at the DQ in between.
The Prairie Duneland Trail is a bit older - and thumpier.
Thump-thump-thump-thump.

Oak Savannah Trail through the Woods
Heart 2 Comment 0

I really was pushing it, trying to get to Indiana Dunes on Lake Michigan.
But I got there at sundown. At least to the campground.
I didn’t want to risk not getting a place to camp.
So, I decided to put off seeing the lake until the morning.

Today's ride: 80 miles (129 km)
Total: 2,523 miles (4,060 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0