Avallon to Vézelay: And then there were only four - Burgundy Buzz - CycleBlaze

May 26, 2022

Avallon to Vézelay: And then there were only four

I met Susan at 7 a.m  sharp for our run to the bakery for fresh croissants and baguettes, a fitting breakfast for Susan's send off. Rachael and Susan had already organized eggs and strawberries the day before. Best breakfast in France, Janos proclaimed.

Unfortunately Janos and  I missed Susan's actual departure. I took her nine o'clock deadline too literally. I was brushing my teeth when she knocked on our door and didn't hear her. She thought we were out and was anxious to get on the road. Never mind, I'm sure we'll see each other again. It was wonderful traveling with you, Susan!

We had time for a photo walk around Avallon before setting out for Vézelay with Scott and Rachael. It will be mostly pictures with no captions from now on if I want to get anything posted at all. I think I have to rationalize my work flow.

Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 6 Comment 0
Heart 7 Comment 0
Heart 6 Comment 3
Scott AndersonIs that my water bottle? I don’t remember this.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Suzanne GibsonTo Scott AndersonOh darn, another misplaced picture. That was from the day before! I will delete it. This is where I have a pcture of you siting in the same doorway.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Keith AdamsTo Scott AndersonAt least now you know where you left it. :)
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Heart 7 Comment 0
Heart 7 Comment 0
Heart 6 Comment 1
Charmaine RuppoltThis reminds me of ones I've seen in Ireland. :)
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

Just a small glitch before we could get going, I wasn't able to import  Scott's gpx route. Following the same routes on our devices made it easy to ride independently and stay together at the same time. After wasting about a half an hour futily trying to do what my cell phone didn't want to do, we decided Janos and I would ride the route I had planned. The beginning was the same and later we branched off.

While we were riding on the route I had planned, we thought, gee, I hope their route was as nice as ours. Later we found out they gad the same thoughts because they also had a great route. 

We started out together through the Valley of the Cousin with a craggy cliff to the right and the river to the left, very scenic. Our route then took us further north while the Andersons dipped south. 

Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 6 Comment 0
Heart 7 Comment 0
Heart 7 Comment 1
Rachael AndersonGreat photo of us!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

I wouldn't say our route was striking but it was green, peaceful and we hardly saw a car the whole time. 

Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 9 Comment 0
Heart 7 Comment 2
Keith AdamsI wonder if they have a problem with dampness in the basement?
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Suzanne GibsonOr in the other floors!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

The day was crowned by a very steep climb up to Vézelay. It was a short day, but the stiff ascent to our destination made up for it.  It was a holiday and the final kilometers on cobblestones were clogged with tourists, many of them pilgrims on the Chemin de St. Jacques. When we arrived, it was too early to check in to our hotel so we sat out on the terrace behind the cathedral with a grand view over the  countryside. While we were resting our weary bones, along came Rachael at a brisk pace, stretching her legs after the short ride.

Heart 6 Comment 1
Charmaine RuppoltA grand view! :)
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

Time to check in, and we discovered Scott with a beer and busy at his laptop in the cafe in front of the hotel.

View from our window: Scott keeping his journal up to date
Heart 5 Comment 2
Rachael AndersonGreat photo of Scott!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Suzanne GibsonTo Rachael AndersonIconic with the after ride beer, ipad and camera!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Final view of the day
Heart 10 Comment 2
Keith AdamsWhat a peaceful, tranquil mood this conveys. Very nicely done!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Suzanne GibsonTo Keith AdamsThanks, our room had a great view to the west and the setting sun.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 23 km (14 miles)
Total: 277 km (172 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 10
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Nancy GrahamWonderful trip, multiple wonderful photos, wonderful stories. In reference to Scott and Rachel’s comments — only the four of you would know that photos are mixed up by days ;’-). I love them all. Repeats are good too, should that be the case ;’-).
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Suzanne GibsonTo Nancy GrahamSo kind of you - thanks for your support!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago