If You Just Want to Read the Good Stuff: (Where to Find the Fun Parts) - Transam, Both Ends to the Middle; Buddy Rides a Bike - CycleBlaze

August 22, 2018

If You Just Want to Read the Good Stuff: (Where to Find the Fun Parts)

I think it's all good, but what would I know? If you are considering your own tour, it's probably worth reading it all. But if you just want to read some of the fun or more interesting parts, here's my recommendations.

The Day I Raced the Devil

See Day 24 for that story. The day before this I did my first century on a loaded touring bike, and was not able to sleep that night - not at all. The fatigue may have contributed to my bicycle talking me into challenging the devil to race, so you may want to also read Day 23 to have a fuller picture.

The Bandana Bicycle Bandit

See Day 55, Day 56, Day 57, Day 63, and Day 67 for the story of the Bandana Bicycle Bandit. This modern day outlaw-hero was desperate to breathe clean air and willing to do whatever it took to get it.

The Spooky Church

You may want to read Day 62 first so you know that I was warned about staying there. The actual story is then found on Day 65. This is the only night of the whole continental crossing that I was scared, and I was truly frightened.

The Wyoming Wind

My toughest day was unexpected and involved a fight against the Wyoming wind. It occurred after a night of minimal sleep in the spooky church. I suggest you read the spooky church story first (see above), then you will better relate to my challenge against the wind on Day 66.

Escape From Idaho

The forest fires had me trapped in Idaho, unable to ride as I had planned. What I had to do to escape the situation amounted to riding 2 days at once. Read Day 52 first to understand my predicament, then read Day 53 for the actual escape.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0