Day 44: Mitchell to Dayville, Over Keyes Creek Pass - Transam, Both Ends to the Middle; Buddy Rides a Bike - CycleBlaze

August 14, 2015

Day 44: Mitchell to Dayville, Over Keyes Creek Pass

Mitchell to Dayville, OR
Heart 0 Comment 0

Notes:

1.) You can leave a message for me by clicking on the comment icon towards the bottom of the page (you must be registered with the site, but it's quick and easy to do so). I enjoy getting messages from readers.

2.) Climbing Today: 2,087 ft -- Total So Far; 103,820 ft

3.) If you haven’t done so already, you should read the section in the Intermission titled “ Second Half, Here I Come!: Considerations, Challenges, and Concerns,” so as to understand the challenges I may face. Some of these, like smoke, are already proving to be problematic.

4.) Average Speed While Biking Today: 13.2 mph

5.) Mechanical Issues Today: none

6.) Miles Traveled To Date On This Half of the Journey: 392

7.) Miles Remaining to Canon City: about 1,608

Today was supposed to be a rest day, according to my "plan." But you know what they say about plans. So instead I'm going to do a short day to Dayville and stay in a place all the cyclists like. By doing so, I can avoid having to do a Gonzo day to reach Prairie City, and after the struggles of the last Gonzo day I think avoiding another one is a great idea. So I was rolling at 5:45 am, and the coyotes were yelping woefully as I left the Sky Hook Motel.

Leaving the Sky Hook Motel in the Morn. Getting to the Sky Hook Required Me to Ride up Into the Sky
Heart 0 Comment 0

(Though I didn't know it at the time, the music of the coyote became quite meaningful to me as the journey unfolded) The Sky Hook was clean enough but it had no air conditioning. That's not all that uncommon in small towns in eastern Oregon, but after yesterday's 93 degrees, the ceiling fan just wasn't enough to keep me comfortable last night and I slept fitfully. Mitchell is just a 1-block town, but it's a neat place.

Mitchell is a Fun Little Town, About 1 Block Long
Heart 0 Comment 0

Another sign warning about the need for snow chains reminded me that I'm still in mountainous terrain. But I didn't really need the sign, as the effort required to forge ahead was all the reminder I needed. This was my path up to Keyes Creek Summit;

The Road Goes Upward, and So Must I
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride consisted of 2 parts; 90% of the effort was expended in the first 6.5 miles as I struggled towards the summit, then the remaining 32 miles was mostly downhill and relatively easy. The sun was coming up, but the mountainside sheltered me most of the way up.

The Sun Was Catching Me, Fortunately the Hillside Offered Shade for the Rest of the Climb
Heart 0 Comment 0

The light for photography wasn't very good, but I still managed to capture these deer foraging in the holler below.

A Mother Deer and 2 Fawns Were Foraging in the Valley Below Me
Heart 0 Comment 0

The countryside was mostly empty, but here's a homestead in the same holler where I saw the deer.

Homestead in a Holler
Heart 0 Comment 0

The smoke continues to harass me, and I'm actually in a thin concoction of it. You can't tell it until you look off in the distance and see the haze around you in all directions.

The Forest Fire Smoke Makes the World Hazy and Has Caught Me For The Moment
Heart 0 Comment 0

It was a tough climb, so I just took it a half-mile or so at a time, then stopped for some fluid and a couple of Pringles chips. You can get Pringles in a very small can and they are useful to ensure that I keep adding a bit of salt as I drink lots of water in the heat. A couple of pickups went by, telling me that the world was waking up now. With 2.5 miles remaining to reach the summit, I emptied the remainder of one water bottle; I was hitting the juice pretty hard this morning, but I know that once I crest the summit it will be an easy ride to Dayville. I have a new “saying” to add to my repertoire of things to tell myself for encouragement now; “Child’s Play.” That is what Charlie said yesterday when I told him and Noah that they had 4.5 miles of hard climb remaining, and then another 30 miles to Prineville before they would reach a water supply. It obviously wasn’t going to be child’s play, in fact it was a very dangerous adult game, but I understood what he was doing when he used those words; it would be tough but they could do it and the term “child’s play” was an encouraging motivator for them to not give up. I like it - I like it a lot, and I know I will use it to encourage myself if times get tough on the journey ahead. (Author's note; indeed, I did use the term quite a bit in the days ahead)

At one rest stop I was panting hard, and a bit of breeze came along that cooled me off. I thought about the two RVs that pulled up at the Café last night and inquired about fuel; what an “adventure” they were having! Yeah, right… anyway, after a few such stops and strange musings in my head, I made it to the summit.

I Made It to the Summit. Most of Today's Effort Occurred in the First 6.5 Miles
Heart 0 Comment 0

Here are a couple of shots of the road looking down the other side, with the smoke evident;

The Road Down the Other Side Was Now Hazy From Forest Fire Smoke
Heart 0 Comment 0
It Was a Magnificent Downhill Run of About 30 Miles
Heart 0 Comment 0

And here’s a bit of the scenery on my descent;

Typical Mountain Stream. Water is Precious on This Side of the Cascades
Heart 0 Comment 0

My path went past the John Day Fossils monument.

The John Day Fossil Monument Was Close to My Route
Heart 0 Comment 0

A lot of towns and places out here are named after John Day, including my destination today, Dayville. At the bottom of the descent I reached Picture Gorge. There's no parking allowed in Picture Gorge. But I parked to get this picture documenting the no parking situation. Surely they didn't mean bicycles?

No Parking Allowed in Picture Gorge; But I Parked to Take This Picture
Heart 0 Comment 0

Picture Gorge is picturesque.

Picture Gorge is Picturesque
Heart 0 Comment 0

And for those who care about science (hey, I'm a Geologist, so you have to endure a wee bit of science from me), it took some time to create Picture Gorge.

The Geology of Picture Gorge
Heart 0 Comment 0

Dayville was named after John Day, and it is a very nice little town.

Dayville is Named After John Day and Has Their Own "Fossils"
Heart 0 Comment 0

Rolling into town, I stopped at the Dayville Mercantile for some supplies.

The Dayville Mercantile
Heart 0 Comment 0

The Dayville Mercantile has opened a bike shop. Numerous places along the Transamerica Route have discovered the economic benefits of bicycle tourism. Outside the mercantile are some wooden "gravestones." Chester's wife Sally liked to dally a bit too much it seems;

Chester's Wife Sally Liked to Dally a Bit Too Much
Heart 0 Comment 0

I had a great lunch at the Dayville Cafe and then set off to find the Community Church, which serves as a bike hostel.

My Home For the Night, a Great Place for Wayward Cyclists
Heart 0 Comment 0

The Dayville Community Church provides shelter for cyclists as well as laundry facilities, a shower, a fully stocked kitchen, and wireless internet. Wow, I'm a happy camper tonight! So here's my sleeping arrangements;

I'm Sleeping Right up Front. I Used to Sleep in the Back Row During Church
Heart 0 Comment 0

Pretty cool huh? I used to sleep in the back of church during the preaching, but now I'm sleeping right up front. This church is indeed bike-friendly;

This Church is Bike Friendly!
Heart 0 Comment 0

Dayville is a small place. Here's the City Hall and Library, built in what we would almost call "tiny homes."

The Dayville City Hall and Library
Heart 0 Comment 0

They don't take themselves too seriously here.

Dayville Humor
Heart 0 Comment 0

I enjoyed a hot shower at the church hostel, then did my laundry and walked the few blocks back to the Dayville Cafe for my evening meal. The café was great and the pies were excellent. No complaints were necessary.

The Dayville Café Serves Excellent Food, No Complaints are Needed
Heart 0 Comment 0

I plan on rolling early in the morn to reach Prairie City. I plan to camp at a park there, to be close to the next challenge that awaits; ascending 3 passes in 1 day. But you know how plans go - Good night all…

Today's ride: 38 miles (61 km)
Total: 2,689 miles (4,328 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0