Her-story: Susan B. Anthony Loved Bicycles - Breaking the Cycle - CycleBlaze

March 31, 2024

Her-story: Susan B. Anthony Loved Bicycles

Today is the last day of March, which means it's the last day of Women's History Month (linguistic irony/hegemony notwithstanding).  To be sure, I look forward to the day when we don't "other"--when every month is human month.  Since we're not there yet, I'll share a little her-story of the bicycle.  The bicycle was viewed as a symbol of independence for women: misogynists didn't like it, feminists did.  In 1896, Susan B. Anthony, who settled right here in Rochester, NY, said, "Let me tell you what I think of the bicycle.  I think it has done more to emancipate women than anything else in the world.  I stand and rejoice every time I see a woman ride by on a wheel.  It gives a woman a feeling of freedom and self-reliance.  It makes her feel as if she were independent.  The moment she takes her seat she knows she can't get into harm unless she gets off her bicycle, and away she goes, the picture of free, untrammeled womanhood."

Susan B. Anthony ca. 1890
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0