Auburn trail: May 1 - Breaking the Cycle - CycleBlaze

Auburn trail: May 1

Meteorologists correctly predicted that the first two days of May would bring beautiful weather to Rochester.  I decided to do a couple of long rides. May 1st I rode to Canandaigua.  The beginning and end of the route involve sharing the streets.  On the Rochester end I rode a few kilometers on the canal path, but most of the route follows the Auburn trail.  

Despite numerous road crossings, I love the Auburn trail: it's gravel, wooded, and less windy than the canal path.   Speaking of road crossings and sharing, I was really pleasantly surprised that most drivers stopped for those of us on bicycles to let us cross.  

I got a slightly later start than I hoped--I left around 11am.  Despite a wrong turn or two, I made it to Canandaigua in about 2 hours.  Stopped at the Bee Hive Brew Pub for some beer and one of the most delicious burgers I've ever had.  Arrived back in Rochester a little before 6pm.  It was a beautiful day.  Legs and lungs felt good.  

The Auburn Trail
Heart 1 Comment 0
Burger and beer at the Bee Hive Brew Pub in Canandaigua
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 85 km (53 miles)
Total: 85 km (53 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0