To Cognac - The Bordeaux Loop - CycleBlaze

May 20, 2008 to May 21, 2008

To Cognac

A two day entry.  Since I’m not dredging up many illuminating memories or anecdotes, we might as well just enjoy the few photos that survived through the years.

I have a pretty dim memory of Angoulême.  We arrived there late in the day and tired after a 73 mile ride, the longest day of the tour.  As I recall, our room was in the lower town but everything else was up above, surrounded by walls.  We enjoyed a short twilight tour of the old town, but it was really too short.  It’s a place that deserved more than one night.

The next day we biked west along the Charente, hopping back and forth along both banks of the river through a route I can’t quite recreate now.  I’m sure we went through Saint-Simon, Bassac and Jarrac - or at least I think I’m sure - and I recall it as very enjoyable, relaxed, easy riding.  Is that enough detail?

The Saint-Pierre Cathedral, Angoulême.
Heart 2 Comment 0
A detail of the Saint-Pierre cathedral, Angoulême.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Bridge over the Charente
Heart 1 Comment 0
Ferry on the Charente
Heart 0 Comment 0
Water jousting, Cognac
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Ride stats: 114 miles, 6,000’; for the tour, 152 miles, 6,800’

Today's ride: 114 miles (183 km)
Total: 152 miles (245 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0