It's raining in the desert! - My Bicycling Bliss - CycleBlaze

December 24, 2021

It's raining in the desert!

I woke to the sound of rain on the metal roof. It was a loud patter. Hmm, I was hoping for slight sprinkles. In my younger years, I would ride anyway, and spend just as much time cleaning the bike as I did riding. Now, I'm lazy. Perhaps it's kinder to say I'm more focused. I would rather not spend as much time cleaning the bike.

Instead we spent the day with Jan checking out recumbents. Her hand and wrist issues are bad enough that my suggestion of a comfortable recumbent seemed like a good idea. 

Jan and Kurt have invited us to their house for a non traditional Christmas dinner. Jan needed Mexican crema for the recipe. Right next to the pawn shop where we had checked out a recumbent for sale, was a Mexican grocery. Jacinto was happy to buy tamales, a traditional Mexican Christmas food.

Next we met Jacinto's nephew and family for dinner as they drove through Tucson.

It's a good thing we didn't ride today! We wouldn't have found time for all of these activities! There was no sitting around being pleasantly bored, as is typical on a day off. 

Tomorrow is supposed to be overcast and cool. I'm hoping for a good ride. I might have to wear tights.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 4
Rachael AndersonYou found a great way to spend a rainy day! Have a great Christmas.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Steve Miller/GrampiesTo Hit the screen at random. Not trying to say anything. Brain is still not really working. Hi, from Dodie
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Steve Miller/GrampiesTo Steve here, barging in with a comment. There is a third option for when it's raining, my favourite, and that is get the bike dirty and almost never clean it. It's a poor one, because bikes go faster and are more fun when clean.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Kelly IniguezTo Steve Miller/GrampiesSteve- not cleaning the bike is also Jacinto’s solution! This past summer, I finally took pitty on his bike and wiped it down. That’s how the broken spoke was discovered in Green Bay! Thankfully we were a few short blocks from a bike shop.

I hope Dodie is doing better each day.

Kelly
Reply to this comment
2 years ago