Cycling in the New Year! - My Bicycling Bliss - CycleBlaze

January 1, 2022

Cycling in the New Year!

Heart 0 Comment 0

We heard heavy rain most of the night and into the morning. I rested well, presuming the forecast of sunshine starting at noon was correct. Indeed - I saw plenty of sunshine. What I neglected to note was the wind. It was blowing strongly enough I could hear it in the bathroom vent. Jacinto opted out of riding again. He has logged 22 miles of walking this trip. He maintains that this is not a bad area, as long as he walks away from the apartments. I asked him if he would buy in the area he'd been walking in and he got the deer in the headlights look. Buy? Who is talking about buying? Not Jacinto!

I was out the door at noon. I had revised my daily mileage downward, to reflect the appeal of the 16-18 mph west wind. Yesterday's warmer 60 degree ride with a rainy ending was better than today's 50 degree ride with a strong wind. I kept my Buff pulled up much of the time for warmth.

I managed to eek out 26 miles. I saw many walkers. I'm starting to recognize the families with kids on bikes. Mostly the kids have pretty good trail manners. Jacinto says the few bicycle riders he saw all looked cold and miserable. He said HE was cold and miserable, without the wind factor of riding. Soon we are going to be home in zero degree weather. Then we can talk about cold . . . 

It sounds like we are eating in tonight. We are trying to finish up the food in the fridge, as we have only two more nights here. I am hoping for another circuit of The Loop tomorrow. It would be a below 40 degree start. I might save the full circuit for the February trip. I've reserved this same apartment for a month in February. That's what retired people get to do - follow the sunshine in the winter. Working people have to stay home and drive on the ice and snow. My sympathies . .  .

Kevin has the same brand of recumbent as Jan. I stopped him to ask about his rear rack attachment. Kevin rides eight miles round trip on the path to work. I think that is ideal!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Kevin likes to keep an eye on the road.
Heart 1 Comment 0
The Rillito River wash is running full today.
Heart 4 Comment 2
Scott AndersonThat’s unbelievable!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
The Pantano Wash is virtually dry.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I would NOT call this barefoot weather!
Heart 0 Comment 0
The Tanque Verde wash is full of water from the mountains. The Pantano Wash to the right, has almost no water. Once they combine, they are called the Rillito River Wash. Kevin filled me in on these details.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Here is a new sculpture close to Dodge Street.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 26 miles (42 km)
Total: 555 miles (893 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Rachael AndersonI’m impressed you made it out for a ride! We did a hike and that was cold and windy.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
jerry witherspoonKelly, you’re a purist. So as the barefoot!!

spoon
Reply to this comment
2 years ago