Day 14 - Königsbrunn to Neuberg a. d. Donau - The Great Bavarian Velomobile Adventure - CycleBlaze

June 9, 2023

Day 14 - Königsbrunn to Neuberg a. d. Donau

Are we there yet? Ride faster

Today actually starts yesterday evening shortly after I finished writing my blog. I got a message from a local velomobile rider who lived a short ride across the river from where I was staying. He rode over so we could hang out and chat for a bit. We share the same passion for Velomobiles as all-year commuting machines. We also bonded over the fact that neither of us really care how fast we go or which model is the fastest of all time (this is quite possibly the most irritating thing about some contingents of the velomobile riding community. Arguments can get quite heated and some pretty ugly words exchanged over claims of particular speeds for particular power output. It’s incredibly off-putting to potential new velomobile riders.)

I’ve been trying to work out how to get around Augsburg without encountering the purported horrific traffic. Riding along the outskirts of München a couple days ago was terrifying enough for one trip. I didn’t want to spend all day lost in Augsburg with cars whizzing by from all directions. Thanks to this fortuitous meeting, I was able to get an excellent gps track for today that routed me away from the city, onto numerous excellent bike paths and relatively quiet roads. Best of all, the total elevation gain for today was 500 feet (insert laughing hysterically emoji here.)

Cockpit cam 1 for the day
Heart 1 Comment 0
Ah yes, the town of Kissing, Germany
Heart 1 Comment 0
Cockpit cam 2
Heart 1 Comment 0
This obstruction had the audacity to cause me to exit the bike and haul it over. Should have stayed in the road. On the plus side, there was a toilet near by.
Heart 1 Comment 0

I didn’t have a particular fixed destination in mind for today. After the abysmal performances most of this trip for mileage versus time spent getting to destination, I’ve given up planning a specific end point. My track went as far as Donauwörth, but I had no idea if it would be reasonable to try and go any further. It took awhile to escape the very outer ring of Augsburg, but thanks to the excellent route, I was able to make reasonable headway. By early afternoon I was out into the farmland on the northeast side of Augsburg. The landscape is broad open plains with fields. Lots and lots of fields.  And wind. A good stiff breeze out of the East. I’ve been surprised by how windy it has been this whole trip and really glad I had a velomobile so I don’t have to worry about a headwind slowing me to a crawl.

Friedberg up on a hill
Heart 1 Comment 0
Broad and flat
Heart 1 Comment 0
A sign for the town of Dickelsmoor. Some really unique town names here.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Airport near Augsburg where I sat in my bike and ate a pastry because I could
Heart 1 Comment 0
Your barn of the day
Heart 1 Comment 0

This is where I would insert an interesting story from the day, but frankly, there isn’t one. I just rode my bike really fast on roads with a tiny downhill gradient averaging well over 20mph for about 25 miles. It was the fastest prolonged stretch of riding I’ve ever had. I can now understand why Velomobiles are so popular in flat places like northern Germany and Netherlands.

This picture really has nothing to do with the storyline. I just took it when I stopped to eat ice cream.
Heart 1 Comment 0

I arrived in Rain mid-afternoon. From here I was to cut west to Donauwörth. I decided given the time of day and the fact that it is relatively flat along the Donau to see if I could reach Neuberg. I located a hotel, and loaded up my route and started riding. I told the hotel I would arrive between 7 and 8pm.

The Donau route really is very flat. And boring. Just more fields. I did get to mix it up a bit with 2 miles on the actually very civilized gravel on the dyke along the river. I played cat and mouse for awhile with a roadie. At one point I stopped for a photo and he yelled to me to get going. It was hilarious.

The Donau
Heart 1 Comment 0
Another cockpit cam
Heart 1 Comment 0
If I stop to take photos, it will harm my average speed. We can’t have that.
Heart 1 Comment 0
I guess I took a picture of a sign
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
The gravel path section
Heart 1 Comment 0
Very civilized
Heart 1 Comment 0

And then I was in Neuberg. I thought it would be further. My calculations said it would be further. It was barely 5pm. What is this sudden change of fortune where I arrive before dinner time at a destination?  At this rate I could have probably reached Ingolstadt today. Neuberg is fine though. It turns out it is quite an interesting old town perched on the hill with a palace and big church and stuff. The streets are a veritable maze, so much so, that I never could locate the restaurant I had originally picked out. I’m in a quirky hotel with a distinct modern flair. I’m well fed now, the blog is done before the sun goes down, and I am now within a reasonable, though hilly, riding distance of the airport. Tomorrow I will head back. That will leave me an entire day free to prepare for the flight back. I’ve had my couple days of flat and fast riding. I’ve had enough of eating bread and cheese for breakfast and fattening German cuisine for dinner. I’ve had my erdbeerschnitte and Italian ice cream, and I can now retreat to the comfort of my home until I get the itch to cycle tour in Europe again.

Neuberg a. d. Donau. I think you already recognize the bike….
Heart 1 Comment 0
The big church
Heart 1 Comment 0
A main street
Heart 1 Comment 0
Let’s go check out the palace
Heart 1 Comment 0
Ooh yes. This is nice
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Very nice
Heart 1 Comment 0
Oh wait.
Heart 1 Comment 0
You thought the very nice was directed at the palace
Heart 1 Comment 0
No, no. I’m talking about that very nice red bike.
Heart 1 Comment 0
It is rather fetching, isn’t it?
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
A mural by my hotel
Heart 1 Comment 0
And the cemetery
Heart 1 Comment 0

Will I be back next year?  I’m not sure. Probably not with a velomobile since the logistics do complicate things. The biggest advantage for my folding recumbent is that I can hop a train any time if the going gets too tough and it flies as checked luggage without the big extra fees. I’ve also now got three Velomobiles in my garage. I don’t think buying another next summer is really necessary.

I shall report back tomorrow on the ride experience as I always do. I will whine about hills because there is no flat route back. Be prepared for that. And maybe I will find some other nice places to take pictures of my bike. 

Today's ride: 57 miles (92 km)
Total: 514 miles (827 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0