Sunday, May 18: A Drive to Timmins then flights YTS-YYZ-ZRH: For Those About to Bike: We Salute You - Achtung Baby: Bavaria with a GPS & Some Great Canadian Gear (Tour 13) - 2014 🇩🇪 🇦🇹 🇨🇭 - CycleBlaze

May 18, 2014

Sunday, May 18: A Drive to Timmins then flights YTS-YYZ-ZRH: For Those About to Bike: We Salute You

I am about to bike; please salute me.

Thanks to one of my fave bands for my headline, and sorry for the slight adjustment.

My wee boy giving me a hand to pack. My doppleganger has been following me around the house and sighing. I re-assure him that the day is coming that we will go biking in Morocco when he gets bigger.
Heart 0 Comment 0

How can you sleep the night before you embark on a cycle tour? Butterflies in the stomach. Excited anticipation of the flights' timing. Did I pack what I need? Did I pack too much? Will the weather co-operate? Sheesh!

Where I sit now, everything is ready to go and I am waiting for my ride to the Timmins (CYTS), ON, airport.

It is nice to have a little helper even if he keeps his hood on! The Timmins airport is usually known for its excessive paranoia at security check-in. Today was quite fine. Though very thorough, including opening up the bike box and going through things, the security person was pleasant about the work. I told him I had been expecting to have the box opened so would accommodate him however he wished.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Update 1526h : Sitting in the Priority Pass lounge at Pearson Airport, Toronto (YYZ) enjoying clam chowder, chocolate chip cookies (nowhere near as good as my Mom's) and red wine. Much nicer than sitting on the stark benches downstairs.

I don't think I should travel without this way-cool perk again. Simple technique to get; awesome pre-flight way to spend time. Imagine how nice with kiddies en route to Cuba and such.

First glimpses of me going back to Europe. This is really happening!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0