Equipment - Bad Tans and Beautiful Legs - CycleBlaze

Equipment

I won't drone on about each individual piece of equipment that I will be using for this trip, but rather provide a general overview of gear. This will probably get refined as I get closer to departure.

The Bike

I will be using my trusty Surly Krampus for my Panamerican adventure. I will be carrying my equipment using a bikepacking setup that I have refined over the past few years of riding. This includes a Revelate handlebar roll, Moosetrek frame bag, and a Swift Zeitgeist seat bag, along with Blackburn Anything Cages on the fork.

Other miscellaneous cycling gear that I will be hauling include: spare tubes (2), patches and tire boots, tire irons, additional tire sealant, and a hand pump; a Crank Brothers Multitool; and chain lube and a rag.  

Slowly refining the setup, approximately one month to departure! One change I made was to the seat bag. Rather than a traditional seat post bag, I've added a Swift Zeitgesit bag which will allow me to hold miscellaneous gear in addition to clothing.
Heart 2 Comment 0

Camping Gear

  • Tarptent Bowfin 1-person tent
  • Sleeping bag, pad, and pillow
  • Headlamp
  • Toiletries: sunscreen, toilet paper, Dr. Bronner’s multiuse soap, chamois cream, toothbrush/toothpaste, razor, bug spray
  • Cooking:
    • Trangia alcohol stove, fuel, lighter
    • Mug and spoon
    • Food (lots of oatmeal, pasta, nuts, and other calorie-dense foods)

Clothing

Last but not least is the topic of clothing. I will likely see all forms of weather on this trip, and must therefore be prepared for whatever Mother Nature has in store. 

  • 2 sun shirts 
  • 1 pair convertible zipper pants (extremely stylish) and 1 pair shorts
  • 1 pair padded bike shorts and 1 pair synthetic underwear
  • Fleece (the Andes will get chilly at night!)
  • Windbreaker and rain jacket
  • Padded gloves
  • Sandals and cycling shoes
  • 2 pairs of wool socks (1 short, 1 long)
  • Swimsuit
  • Buff

Other pieces of miscellaneous gear include an unlocked phone, Garmin inReach GPS beacon, DJI mini 2 drone, and Fujifilm X-T3 camera for documenting life on the road.  There are certainly items that are missing from this list, but we will find that out as we make our way into the Americas.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Floyd JonesDrone!! Hey, are you doing a tubeless setup, but with tubes as backup?
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Jeremy NolanTo Floyd JonesYup! I love my tubeless setup but always carry tubes as a backup. Haven't had a flat in nearly 2 years because of it!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago