Equipment - Bad Tans and Beautiful Legs: Summer on the TransAmerica Trail - CycleBlaze

Equipment

Bike touring can seem daunting at first, but I quickly found that the existing community is helpful and excited to get others involved. I'm not one to go over every fine detail, so my list is pretty generic. If you want suggestions or specifics, message me! With that being said, here is what I'm bringing along my journey:

THE BIKE+SETUP

-Stock 2016 Novara Mazama (https://www.rei.com/product/875003/novara-mazama-bike-2016).

I originally looked at a couple other touring bikes before settling on the Mazama, namely the Surly LHT, Kona Sutra, and Jamis Renegade. Why did I choose it? Well, first off, I didn't want to be limited to touring only on paved roads. The Mazama is, first and foremost, a gravel touring bike, capable of rougher roads. That appealed to me. Secondly, it's a steal, given it's great setup and the REI dividend. I've had a blast on it so far, and am excited to see how it handles this trip.

-Nashbar rack on the front, Blackburn rack on the rear

-4 Axiom panniers (2 waterproof, 2 water-resistant)

-Handlebar bag

-Brooks B17 saddle (THE touring saddle) and rain cover

-Specialized bike computer

-Multi-tool, patch kit, spare tube, extra brake pads, chain links+lube

-Assorted front and rear lights and safety reflectors

-Complete set of ACA TransAmerica bike trail maps

-Three water bottles (one of which has duct tape rolled around it, a useful tip)

-Bonus good-luck charm! A little Herbie the Love Bug I mounted on the handlebars, courtesy of my boyfriend Caleb

My trusty steed, seen here without panniers. This picture wasn't staged at all...
Heart 0 Comment 0
May Herbie the Love Bug bring us much guidance, encouragement, and luck.
Heart 0 Comment 0

CAMPING GEAR

This is where things get wonky. I've accumulated a wide array of random camping gear over the years, so my equipment is a hodgepodge of things. Bear with me.

-A 52 year-old down sleeping bag from the Canadian army (it's pretty sweet)

-Marmot 3-person tent, which I exchanged at REI in Eugene, Oregon for a 1-person REI tent (a much more appropriate, lighter choice)

-Thermarest accordion sleeping pad

-JetBoil stove and assorted cookware

-First aid kit

-U-lock and cable

CLOTHING+PERSONAL GEAR

-One short sleeved biking jersey

-One synthetic tee shirt

-Two pairs of padded biking shorts

-One pair of normal synthetic shorts

-One pair of synthetic underwear

-One pair of long underwear (top and bottom)

-Patagonia fleece and rain jacket

-Shimano mountain biking shoes and cleats

-One pair of destroyed Birkenstocks (for camp)

-Two pairs of synthetic socks

-One pair of wool socks

-Wool beanie

-Gloves

My camp shoes. Clearly I am a dirty hippie. I hope they last. Duct tape is your friend.
Heart 0 Comment 0

ELECTRONICS

-Samsung S6 cell phone

-GoPro Hero 3 with assorted mounts

-Two spare lithium ion batteries (for charging gear on the go)

The steed, loaded and ready for the road. It's so heavy.....
Heart 0 Comment 0
Training trip #1. The Mazama handled it much better than its pilot. Oh well. With practice comes perfection (I hope).
Heart 0 Comment 0

There are, of course, various things that I'm sure I'm forgetting to include on this list (or maybe altogether. We'll see soon if that's the case).

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0