Day 5 - Forbes to Condobolin via Bogan Gate - Unfinished Business - CycleBlaze

May 5, 2023

Day 5 - Forbes to Condobolin via Bogan Gate

Dick's hospitality extends to breakfast - muesli and unscrambled eggs. There's philosophy too: "horses: animals that are constantly seeking inventive ways to kill themselves". With those words of wisdom and a poor selfie I headed off.

Dick and I
Heart 3 Comment 0

I'm not sure why I went the long way to Condo but Bogan Gate always appeals. The photo suggests permanent gate closure.

Heart 2 Comment 0

I'd done 50 km and could not resist making a free call thanks to Telstra. I booted the young musician out and phoned Cora. What a bargain; 50c for 10 min, two years ago.

Heart 4 Comment 0

Conditions were perfect again. It's flat country but lush after floods. Creeks flow and at one, Crooked Ck, I saw babblers, choughs and apostlebirds - far more than 12 per flock; apostles have been up to stuff.

Heart 2 Comment 0

I couldn't work out the cause of death of a  sow and her 10 piglets on the roadside but I did take a photo. 

There were 10 plump little piggies
Heart 1 Comment 0

Every so often grain silos rose from near the railway - pure works of art!

Heart 3 Comment 0

I decided to call it quits in Condobolin because the next stage involves dirt road and juggling water. In an hour I grabbed supplies and did an interview with the local paper. That's a good use of time!

The caravan park here is very nice - cosy and well-supplied camp kitchen. It was here that I met Phil, a Kamilaroi man and railway worker. He and his colleagues cooked up fresh Murray cod and served it with chips from down the road. How did they catch them? Here in the Lachlan on cubes of cheese. The cheese attracts yabbies and then the cod move in. I had very good fried fish for dessert, while discussing indigenous affairs.

Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0

The Lachlan looks good.

Heart 6 Comment 3
John GrantOriginally called Galari (some link to the birds? Oxley first recorded galahs around this spot) I was born and raised on that great river. Love it !
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Ian WallisTo John GrantJohn, thanks for the insight. Many waterways are looking good even in W Qld
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
John GrantI'll bet they are Ian. You're travelling through after a rare run of wet seasons. Great timing
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

Today's ride: 114 km (71 miles)
Total: 462 km (287 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0