The bikes - Keeping up with Rudolf - CycleBlaze

April 27, 2024

The bikes

They say a poor workman blames his tools.  If you followed my journal last year you will know that our tour ended prematurely at Reims after 1000km.  I was falling over just too often and the last time when I nearly went into the canal I completely lost my confidence.  I blame it on the fact that I had a 500W  battery mounted on the carrier.  The centre of gravity was just too high,  when I stopped and went to get off (this is the hard part for me with my reduced mobility) the bike would start to topple over, there was no way I could hold it and over we would both go.

In 2018 we bought bikes in Hamburg and rode them to Munich and stored them for a year. Then back we came in 2019 and rode them the long way around to our niece near Paris and left them there. Covid came…..

After the debacle of Reims we went to Moret to visit Louise and there were our bikes in perfect condition.  My one is perfect, it has a slightly smaller, 400W, battery on the down tube - I know this will be fine as it is the same as the set up on my bike at home which I ride most days and have never fallen.

A flash back to 2018
Heart 4 Comment 0
A better look at my much more suitable bike
Heart 3 Comment 0

Although everything appears in order Louise is taking the bikes into a cycle shop for a good going over

Heart 2 Comment 2
Kathleen JonesNow that is a bike spa treatment!
Reply to this comment
3 weeks ago
Ann HutchingType your comment here
Reply to this comment
2 weeks ago

So everything will be in great condition when we arrive in Moret

Rate this entry's writing Heart 12
Comment on this entry Comment 3
Steve Miller/GrampiesAhh, may the benefits of preventative maintenance keep you safe and well.
Reply to this comment
3 weeks ago
Robyn RichardsThis all looks very promising!
Reply to this comment
3 weeks ago
Tricia GrahamWaiting to see where the Park Run was today
Reply to this comment
3 weeks ago