Dizzy Day with Square Butte - The Any Road Tour - DC to the PNW - CycleBlaze

June 27, 2018

Dizzy Day with Square Butte

Lewistown to Geraldine

Last night’s dinner was a burrito and Mexicali fries. This is what the Mexican food chain calls tater tots. Head. Table.

The motel room was buggy but I didn’t care. I slept well and dried my camping gear.

I needed a jacket in the morning. Low 50s. No wind though.

I cruised the town, stopping to buy provisions at a grocery store. Then I found a coffee shop that my friend Felkerino would have approved of. Fortified with coffee, bagel, and a jumbo chocolate chip cookie. (Andrea, I don’t have a jersey pocket so I ate it in the spot.)

On the road by a little after 8, I was on level ground with a 2 mph tailwind. I felt strong and cruised along above 10 mph with no effort. Finally!

The route trended downhill between North and South Moccasin Mountains.

I stopped in Denton for lunch, chicken legs, smothered mashed potatoes, and corn on the cob. Burp.

Approaching Coffee Creek, I could see Square Butte. I thought it was only a mile or two away but it never seemed to get closer.

The road turned directly toward Square Butte. I looked at my map and tried to figure out how I was going to get around it. I figured to the left. Then I saw the sign on the side of the road: 8% grade. Downhill.

Suddenly I was flying down a curving road into a canyon. No guard rails. Frequent white crosses denoting fatal crashes. A steamroller in the middle of the road. WTF!

I slowed to 25 mph as it pulled to the shoulder. Would the new asphalt it was smoothing grab my wheels?

Thankfully the pavement held firm. I accelerated with no effort to 35 mph, curving down the hill like some crazy two wheeled bobsled. It was just plain thrilling.

At the bottom was a vast valley with Square Butte on my left and Antelope Butte on my right. The cave-like holes in the face of the butte caught my eye as did the defective longhorn steer in the field between the butte and me.

At the recommendation of Michael and Leonore I stopped in the town of Square Butte for lunch at the Country Club. It was quite the dive but the chicken Caesar salad I had was a work of art.

Heart 0 Comment 0


It took a long time to make and eat, using up time I wanted to spend biking.

Seven miles later I pulled into the town of Geraldine. I had booked a room in the B&B. I pulled up and three people were sitting on benches outside the restaurant/bar next door.

As I dismounted I suddenly felt lightheaded. Until I got off the bike I was seriously considering riding on to Fort Benton to take advantage of the perfect riding weather. My spinning head had other ideas.

I checked in and convinced the owner to let me do a load of laundry. I sat outside talking to a local farmer. He said the red grain I have been riding past is a kind of hay. He also mentioned how it and everything else is in bloom right now. Then it hit me; I ran out of antihistamines two days ago.

I went next store to the general store and bought some: 120 tablets for $6, about 1/4th the DC price. I asked the clerk to double check the price. $6. I bought some sunscreen. $6. If he sold scotch I’d have bought a fifth.

So I’m spending the night in Geraldine. The town. (Sorry. I couldn’t help myself.)

The only problem with this arrangement is that tomorrow will be an 80 miler with headwinds. I may end up splitting it into two days.

Miles: 75

Total tour miles: 2,750.5

I went over 6,000 miles for the year today.

Today's ride: 75 miles (121 km)
Total: 2,765 miles (4,450 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0