Day 10: Arches NP part 2 - Aimless - CycleBlaze

June 21, 2013

Day 10: Arches NP part 2

Man, I was POOPED when I finished today's ride. It was a nice ride though, through Arches National Park (and some exporation of side roads and such). I had considered riding right to Canyonlands NP but when the rubber hit the road it was clear that it wasn't going to happen. Besides, I had to restock my food supplies.

So I went back to Moab and stopped at a little ma and pa hotel. She said rooms were 75 bucks, which seemed a little steep, but maybe not? All I know is she said she had a room ready right then, and hearing that, I might have paid 1000 bucks. But either way, That shower felt GOOD! Then it was off for lunch, except they were serving breakfast all day, so I ordered the eggs, potatoes, toast and wild salmon, and proceeded to inhale it in about 5 minutes.

Then I returned to my room, crawled into bed and took a nap. After I woke up I watched one episode of That 70's Show and on of MASH. It was only then that I began to feel human again.

Sometimes you just have to know when to give in to temptation and get a hotel room.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Balance Rock in Arches NP
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
I have cut myself off completely from the greater world which surrounds the man-made shell. The desert and the night are pushed back--I can no longer participate in them or observe. I have exchanged a great and unbounded world for a small, comaratively meager one.. Edward Abbey, Desert Solitaire
Heart 0 Comment 0
I forgot to mention that I was a little short on food last night. Oh, it was survivable. I wasnt thinking of snacking in my fellow campers or anything. But I was a little low. So after I got back from my hike I got out my wallet and went out hunting for a Coke. "Do you have any spare cokes I can buy?" I asked the campers across from me. "No, but you can have one." They said. Except they had pepsi, which didnt matter. All I can say is that a Pepsi never tasted so good!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 39 miles (63 km)
Total: 455 miles (732 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0