South Fork - Creede, CO - Big Mountains, Small Towns. - CycleBlaze

June 27, 2022

South Fork - Creede, CO

Heart 0 Comment 0

Today is a short connector day. Now we are finally back on our original schedule. Jacinto hopes our legs haven't gotten lazy from all of the easy riding. Tomorrow we have serious climbing up Spring Creek and Slumgullion Passes.

Today was all about scenery. I had forgotten what a beautiful canyon this is, running alongside the Rio Grande River the entire distance. I was dreading the traffic. Everyone wants to be up in the mountains and there are only so many roads. Monday morning ended up being a good day for this ride. 

Oren and I delayed our departure until 9 AM. There was no use being in a hurry. Jacinto didn't leave until 11. Jacinto called as he left, surprised that we weren't there yet. We kept moving along. Our only stop was to chat with a road bike rider at some cabins. He lives in Creede eight months a year. I can't say I would want this road to be my daily ride. If you don't mountain bike, your only choices would be up the mountain, or down the mountain. The road biker said that the shoulder was wider the last eight miles to town, and that the railroad tracks had been paved over. He was correct. Oren and I were just remembering how Spoon had crashed going over the angled tracks, and had skinned himself up pretty good. 

I stopped and took quite a few photos along the way. I was extra happy to see the blue, blue sky!

Oren stopped a little before town. We discussed killing time and eating lunch. I thought I needed to check with Jennifer at the motel, as I had estimated arriving at noon. Since she was willing to accommodate me getting in early, I wanted to be timely. Oren went in the office first.  He was also able to get into his room. I called Jacinto to see if he wanted lunch. We went back and forth about eating lunch, eating dinner, where would we do those things.

The end of the story was walking the half block to the gas station for a V-8 for me, a snack for Oren, and a Pepsi for Jacinto to go with his pistachios.

The ice machine is next to Oren's room. We are both happy with the price for the room. It includes an egg and sausage casserole and pancakes in the morning. Breakfast starts at 7:15, not 7 AM. I didn't dare ask about the specific time.

By the time we got done chatting, Jacinto arrived. His rear tire went flat just as he arrived to town. Ten minutes later, it was very flat. Jacinto found a sticker. He said he was having a great day until that. Now he's been banging around and I am staying out of his way. I think he and Oren are walking to the store for bananas. 

We are staying close to the lodge for dinner, just in case it rains tonight. There used to be a Mexican restaurant nearby, now it is Cooper's Bar and Grill. That's where we are going.

Wish us endurance and strong legs tomorrow! It's over 4,000 feet of climbing.

Oren is to the right. The new rock retaining wall is in the center. We appreciated the wider shoulder through the area.
Heart 5 Comment 0
The patchwork of greens doesn’t quite show in this photo.
Heart 2 Comment 0
A caboose, but no engine.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
The Rio Grande River. Oren told me not many people have peed in the Rio Grande. I had to laugh, but I imagine quite a few people have.
Heart 5 Comment 2
Scott AndersonCurious as to where Oren obtained his information. I’d want to see some documentation.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Kelly IniguezTo Scott AndersonI asked him why he didn't stop right there on top of the bridge - make sure that he gets right to the source! He just laughed.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
A modern style ranch gate. I prefer the traditional style.
Heart 1 Comment 0
This rock wall appears very old.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Wild iris!
Heart 2 Comment 0
Our lodging tonight.
Heart 3 Comment 0
These cute bears were at each room.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 22 miles (35 km)
Total: 874 miles (1,407 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 3
jerry witherspoonOne of my favorite routes of all time: Kelly and Jacinto’s “Slumgullion” tour! But I had an ouchie on those RR tracks just south of Lake City.

spoon
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Kelly IniguezTo jerry witherspoonYou must not have been the only one, the railroad tracks are all paved over now. The road bike rider we spoke to said that he saw a three wheeled motorcycle bounce going over those tracks so hard that it ended up in the other lane!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Rachael AndersonGlad you got an easy day. Hope it goes well tomorrow!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago