Gunnison - day off. - Big Mountains, Small Towns. - CycleBlaze

June 11, 2022

Gunnison - day off.

Our Airbnb cabin has upscale soap and a nifty little pot scrubber that has dish soap inside.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Homemade cable given to me many years ago on my first long tour. John said that this cable/lock combo will stop any casual thief. Someone prepared to steal your bike would have the means to cut a heavy cable just as easily as this skinny one. It weighs nothing. I had to think over John's logic. Then I agreed with him.There's no excuse not to have it with me at all times. John said you can buy any length of cable you like at the hardware store, and also the black ends (IDK what they are called). Just pinch the black piece closed, and you have a cable for your bike! I so admired his cable that he sent me this one after the tour. I've had it more than ten years.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I have a couple of little things I've forgotten to mention. Many motels have rags for bike cleaning. At Old Towne Inn in Crested Butte, there is a basket of rags next to the washer. I took one to carry, and have cleaned my bike. It's ready for the next leg.

We have been passing through marshy areas. I've heard frogs chirping for several days. That is not a typical sound for me when riding. I've enjoyed hearing them.

Today we slept in. I've had a shower, and cleaned the bike. I've sorted through the panniers. Cleaning house is easy when all you have is what's on the bike. 

We are working on eating the leftovers. Lunch out with Oren has been canceled, due to the number of leftovers. Jacinto and Oren walked to Safeway, and the bike shop. Now Jacinto is gone to lift weights. He doesn't get the concept of a rest day. Oren said he was taking a nap. THAT is a rest day! I have a book to read. 

I believe we are leaving early tomorrow. It's a 70 mile day over North Pass. The wind should be a quartering tailwind, but we aren't trusting it. It will be a long day. We haven't ridden to Saguache in at least five years. It is a fondly remembered ride. I hope to see and photograph wild iris tomorrow. I don't know why there have been so few flowers so far.

Ah, something else I've been meaning to mention - birds of prey - not as many as I would like to see. I don't even try to photograph them. But I do admire their graceful swooping.

Jacinto found a can of coffee that he meant to sent home. That's worth a laugh.

On day nine, Jacinto finally remembers to use his Habenero powder. The burrito is a perfectly aged four days old.
Heart 0 Comment 2
James FitchHe had to use the habanero powder to sterilize that "perfectly seasoned four day old" (and not refrigerated, I'm sure) burrito
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Kelly IniguezTo James FitchEntirely too true!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 0