Heading to the starting line - Two Wheels, One Heart - CycleBlaze

October 9, 2023

Heading to the starting line

My shuttle to Washington DC and ride to lockhouse 6 for the night

Amtrak Capital Limited at Pittsburgh Penn Station
Heart 0 Comment 0

The train

This was my third shuttle using the Capital Limited to travel to Washington DC. My first arrived in Pittsburgh two hours late and had a 90 minute delay arriving 3 ½ hours late. My second left Pittsburgh on time and arrived in DC thirty minutes early. Amtrak shares the rails with freight traffic. It has less priority. That often results in delays.

I arrived 1 hour prior to scheduled departure this time and parked in the Grant Street Transportation Center at the station. I loaded my bike and walked across the street to the station. The sound screeching train brakes above signaled an early arrival of the Capital Limited.

Ready to roll to Georgetown at Union Station
Heart 1 Comment 0

I beelined to the lobby elevator and loaded the bike for the ride to the platform. The train was nearly ready to board. A few minutes later, my companions and I were told to head to the baggage car and take the bags off the bike. This was not a roll on, roll off car but did have bike racks to hang the bikes. The train man loaded the bikes in the car.

We waited with the other passengers and boarded the train with an ontime departure. The ride was comfortable with the train car nearly empty. We arrived at Washington Union Station on time and again loaded up the bikes to ride to the lockhouse.

The commute

It was Columbus Day and the city was humming with tourists. My group wound its way across the National Mall and Constitution Avenue to the Rock Creek Trail. We were soon in Georgetown on the C&O. Two of my companions were in need of a bike shop. My cousin lives near the canal and bike shop. Bikes repaired, a visit with my cousin, and a good dinner at The Tombs filled the afternoon. We set off as the sun was setting for a five mile ride to lockhouse 6, our overnight.

Lockhouse 6 on the C&O, home for two nights
Heart 1 Comment 0

The lockhouse

I have stayed at lockhouse 6 on a pro tour. It is a nice experience; one of the few lockhouses open for rental with full amenities. We settled in for a well earned rest for tomorrow’s ride and tour of Washington DC. I plan on writing a journal entry about a lockhouse stay sometime later on this journal.

Today's route

Cycling from Washington DC Union Station to C&O lockhouse 6
Heart 0 Comment 0

Good night from the trail.

Tom on the Trails 

Today's ride: 10 miles (16 km)
Total: 343 miles (552 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Rick StoutWow. Your companions needed a bike shop before you even got going? I think you need to prod them a bit to make sure they are ready for a tour.
Reply to this comment
6 months ago
Tom BilczeTo Rick StoutThat is very true. I think that lesson was learned.
Reply to this comment
6 months ago