Zanzibar airport area to Stone Town (Shoki Shoki hostel) - Kim and Glory - It's in My Soul - CycleBlaze

August 27, 2022

Zanzibar airport area to Stone Town (Shoki Shoki hostel)

I knew it! I LOVE Zanzibar!

I only moved a few miles away to Stone Town, which is the touristy old part of Zanzibar city.  There is a mix of cultures here, Arab, Persian, and Indian.   It was known for it's spice trade back in the day.  (Thanks Wikipedia.)  The city center is a maze of narrow passageways and I may have gotten lost trying to find the hostel both upon arrival and after I had gone out exploring.

I have a fantastic hostel except the receptionist overcharged me and I called her on it.  I get so tired of this.  She had been helpful though, so I let her keep some of it and asked for a partial refund and kept it light so as not to offend her.  My bike is in a hallway downstairs and I'm very nervous about it.  It's locked, but only to itself for now.  There is a very steep stairway up to the dorm room.  I can lock it to the railing, but not until tonight, otherwise, it will be in the way a little bit.

It's HOT and humid here so taking after my initial exploration, I needed an air conditioning break before venturing back out closer to evening.  So many souvenir shops.  So many things to buy.  Ha ha.  I will find just the right thing as I am a patient shopper and since you have to haggle, I need to get an idea of the correct price before I buy something.  

There's an old fort here which I walked around and then went to the waterfront.  Went back later in the evening when the street vendors are out selling a bunch of cheap food.  Was a super neat experience.  I actually ran into a couple that had helped me find the hostel earlier today and they invited me to sit with them for dinner.

Down along the waterfront there were a couple of groups of boys.  The first group was along the beach.  They would run and use an old tire to launch themselves to complete a bunch of acrobatic flips.  Every once in awhile, they wouldn't stick the landing and let's just say there was sand everywhere!  Later, I saw them running and launching themselves off a wall into the water.  I guess it was a common game to replicate the moves.  Looked like fun and was fun watching their skills at work!

Watched a bit of a soccer game on my way in. Check out those hot pink jerseys!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Not sure what was going on here, but I suspect someone very important. A long motorcade of cars and police. They stopped all cars and even me on my bike. I discreetly took this picture
Heart 1 Comment 0
Nope, not this way to the hostel
Heart 0 Comment 0
Home sweet home. Only one other guy here and I just visited with him and he gave me a bunch of useful info for where to stay and what to do
Heart 0 Comment 0
Thank goodness I am not on the second floor!! Steep stairs, especially for my big foot!
Heart 0 Comment 0
I love it! Reminds me of Venice, Italy
Heart 0 Comment 0
The door to the bank.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Glory pretending to be in jail
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Waterfront area
Heart 1 Comment 0
Tons of stray cats around. I may have given these two some of my chicken after lunch
Heart 1 Comment 0
I thought the electrical was a bit interesting, then I noticed the cool shuttered windows
Heart 0 Comment 0
Bikes
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
More cats
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 5 miles (8 km)
Total: 3,991 miles (6,423 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0