Kayova River Lodge to Camp Ndurukoro - Kim and Glory - It's in My Soul - CycleBlaze

June 7, 2022

Kayova River Lodge to Camp Ndurukoro

And I'm going to enjoy the river while I can

I decided to take the "scenic route" today.  That means staying on the gravel road to camp Ndurukoro.  It was a little shorter and I got more river views, passed  through more small villages and saw a little more of the local life.  It is a stretch for me to have gone this way as I prefer paved roads and more of a main route.  However, no shortage of people along the way.  I went slow as again, I had a headwind and I think my average speed was 6mph, but I didn't care as I was in no hurry.  My arm is tired from waving to all the kids!  Ha ha.  I love how their faces light up when I acknowledge them.

I should also mention, as I pushed my bike up to the lodge, one of the guys comes and and says, "why do you crazy people do this?" or something along that line.  It was good for a laugh.

Another cyclist, Christian, who has been traveling a very long time and really exploring Africa, showed up on the second evening.  Always good to chat and compare notes, but he is way more crazy adventurous than I am.  In my mind, to the point of being unsafe with regards to animals.  I mean, he had lions all around his tent one evening and has seen them on the road.  Not for me!  There are limits to the risks I am willing to take.

Okay, everyone told me "just wait for them to cross the road and don't get between mom and the babies and you'll be fine." NOBODY told me what to do when they are camped out on the road with small babies (off to the right.) I waited 15 minutes and then decided to pass on the left. I was so scared! They moved a little away as I got closer and closer, but do you see those pointy horns!
Heart 0 Comment 0
I was not amused with the situation. Cattle wrangler, I am not.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Short rest break. Loved the tree behind my bike.
Heart 1 Comment 0
What's not to love about a baby goat?
Heart 1 Comment 0
My first venture into a Shebeen (bar). I had to wake the lady whose head was resting on the counter to get a Coke. (My only option besides beer.) I was the only customer.
Heart 2 Comment 0
I was at the bar so avoided the goat stampede!! :)
Heart 0 Comment 0
Lots of school kids today. Although they are always happy to get a picture, they don't ever smile.
Heart 1 Comment 0
The girl on the left decided to chase after me and race. She was very determined and in general, I think I was going slightly uphill all day!
Heart 0 Comment 0
The road to camp. Thins are getting more desolate!
Heart 1 Comment 0
I am really enjoying the river views!
Heart 0 Comment 0
I got an excellent deal as the camp sites were full. The owner let me have one of the little cottages for basically just a tiny bit more than camping.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Always thankful for a bed even if I was late to realize the windows were screens and it was still cold. My bathroom is attached, but basically almost outdoors. Now that I learned cobras can climb, I hope nothing climbs the walls in that area tonight!
Heart 1 Comment 0
River view with some nice plants and flowers
Heart 0 Comment 0
Sorry. Not sorry. I work hard to enjoy these moments.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Another glorious sunset. And yes, I took an extra day off here.
Heart 1 Comment 0
With the sunset setting on my camera. Brings out all the oranges I see. Yes, it’s really that pretty!
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 27 miles (43 km)
Total: 2,895 miles (4,659 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Josee ClermontYour photos are beautiful, Kim.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Kim JohnsonTo Josee ClermontThanks so much Josee. Glad you're enjoying them.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago