Bahia Gonzaga to Bahia Los Angeles (Via van) - Kim and Glory - It's in My Soul - CycleBlaze

January 14, 2022 to January 15, 2022

Bahia Gonzaga to Bahia Los Angeles (Via van)

detour

In hindsight, the ride through the hills didn’t look that bad and the scenery would have been awesome from the saddle.  On the plus side, I am going to an area I wasn’t planning to visit.  I thought I would bike out of there until after the turnoff, it was a whole lot of down.  I would die trying to bike out.  A ride it is.

The day we arrived I got set up on the actual beach.  None of the area was very level.  Let’s just say after awhile, I realized I had set up below the high tide line.  That could have been a disaster!  Needless to say, I moved my tent a few feet back….on a worse slope.  I thought I’d survive, but it was a crappy night of sleep as so kept sliding down.   It’s very social around here, but I was surprised when my friend up and goes away to watch a sunset with some people.  Would have been nice if she would have mentioned me.  Oh well.  Didn’t see her again for hours, but met some great people including a gal who is touring on her motorcycle.  She surprises a lot of people as she’s been traveling for a year and she is quite petite.  Kicking ass for sure and really positive and well spoken.  Was great chatting with her.

In the morning, I moved my tent way back from the water , but at least I was fairly level now.  The downside is the wind has kicked up horribly.  Sand was blowing into our palapa and was hitting me in my face as I boiled some water.  Not much choice but to hang out in the cafe all day and make good use of the Wi-Fi.

I had met another lady, Dawna, and visited with her last night.  It seemed we had some things in common.  Today, she found me and invited me over for lunch.  She then hands me money for my whale watching trip.  I had mentioned I’d probably go twice as when would so get to experience that again.  I tried to turn it down, but she wanted to do that for me she said.  We had shared enough with each other that we’d both been through some hardships.  Her son had also bike toured to Argentina and back and  had been shown kindness on the road.   It was very thoughtful and kind of her.  A true road angel!

This morning I had a great discussion with a guy, Travis,  who was there with his wife, Torey, and their three boys.  He’d been coming here for 25 years as he was a turtle researcher and I learned so much.  It was very interesting seeing how they were able to get the villagers to stop poaching turtles and instead focus on conservation. It was a success story for the turtles.  Later that day, I was invited for birthday cake for one of the boys.  Who am I to say no?  Afterwards, the boys, Jasper, Colby, and Sterling went to the tide pools and showed me so much.  They were flipping all kinds of rocks so finally I picked one to see what was under it.  Mine was disgusting because it had a bunch of sea cucumbers that looked an awful lot like Pacific NW slugs.  Gross!  The youngest was cracking me up with his quips.  He decided so knew absolutely nothing about marine biology.  What can I say?  It’s been awhile since I explored a tide pool!  Perfect way to end my time here.  We are leaving in the morning.  Excited to get back on my bike.

Dawna
Heart 0 Comment 0
Brittle stars
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
My rock of slimy creatures 😂
Heart 1 Comment 0
I like brittle stars better
Heart 4 Comment 0
Fire worms!! Apparently, they will make a grown man cry!
Heart 2 Comment 0
Sea anemone
Heart 2 Comment 0
Sun starfish
Heart 3 Comment 0
I found a pac man creature!
Heart 1 Comment 0
Beautiful place
Heart 1 Comment 0
So many creatures
Heart 0 Comment 0
Jasper has his back to us and is walking off as he hurt his hand on rocks and was not a happy camper. The other bro there’s, Sterling and Colby, my tide pool field guides.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Scenic views abound
Heart 2 Comment 0

Today's ride: 4 miles (6 km)
Total: 1,319 miles (2,123 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0