In Tucson: one last loop - Looking Back With 2020 Vision, Part I - CycleBlaze

February 10, 2020

In Tucson: one last loop

Last ride!

With thunderstorms due to roll in by midafternoon and with Rachael still feeling congested from the cold-that-won’t-go-away, we make the safe and easy decision to just ride the loop again.  It’s warm enough so that we can get an early start and put in our forty miles before the first showers are due to arrive.  Rachael starts the coffee at 6:30, she’s scrambling eggs soon after, and we’re on the road before 9.

We head south this time, and then out east along Julian Wash - the same route we followed on one of our first rides here.  At the end of Julian Wash we just double back.  We just rode this course recently, but it still surprises me with how great it is.  And I was wrong about the northern section along the Rillito Wash when I said it was the best part of the Loop.  These miles along Julian Wash are the best - quieter, more open, beautiful views, more wildlife.

You don’t need another description of the same ride, so you’re not getting one.  Just two comments though.  First, do you remember that Cooper’s Hawk I saw out here before that I failed to take a shot of because a group of bikers flushed him out first?  Well, he was there again today!  Same spot on the trail, must be the same bird.  But he flashed by too quickly for me to do much but admire him in flight.

And, you might recall that one of my personal challenges is to ride my age in miles each year.  I haven’t done my 73 mile ride yet, and mention it as we’re riding.  Rachael suggests I could do it today; and it’s actually a pretty good idea, here where it’s nice and warm, flat, and interesting.  I consider it, and might have chosen to if I hadn’t come without a lunch.  And if I hadn’t left the lock behind, so I couldn’t really stop at a cafe somewhere.  And if I didn’t mind biking through a thunderstorm.  And, I suddenly realize, if I hadn’t forgotten my helmet.  

So, no.  My 73 mile ride will have to wait for a dry day in Portland - which from the looks of things could be quite a while.

Eastbound along Julian Wash.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Yes, this is the best part of the Loop. Wonderful miles.
Heart 2 Comment 0
One last roadrunner for the tour. I was hoping we’d find one!
Heart 5 Comment 1
Ron SuchanekGreat! We saw only 1 roadrunner the entire time we were there.
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
And a bit more Loopside Art. There’s less of it on the south side. You need to keep an eye peeled for the Art arrows.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Train and mountain.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Desert rust.
Heart 3 Comment 0
A Starling? It looks like saguaros will host just about anybody. The hole around the corner is occupied by an English sparrow.
Heart 8 Comment 1
Jen RahnGreat shot!
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
It’s a day for repeat performances. We get another look at the curve billed thrasher.
Heart 3 Comment 0
The common house finch. Nearly everyone in the country can find this one in their back yard or city park.
Heart 2 Comment 1
Andrea BrownI just had a flock of them yesterday in the hawthorn at my rental property. So cute.
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Are we in agreement then? The best part of the Loop. Right?
Heart 6 Comment 2
Andrea BrownSinuous and beautiful. Agreed.
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Jen RahnDefinitely ranks amongst the beckoning trails!
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Another nice bit of Art along Julian Wash.
Heart 3 Comment 1
Ron SuchanekI'm sorry we missed this section and some of the others you rode. The best solution, as I see it, is for you and Rachael to buy a place in Tucson. We can house sit or visit. It's a win-win!
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
I’m pretty sure the Verdin is a new species for me. In fact, I don’t think I even knew it was a species before now. I was scratching my head looking at photos of warblers, wondering what this could be when I finally stumbled across it.
Heart 5 Comment 1
Bruce LellmanWhat a cute bird!
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
If we can squeeze in room for a last roadrunner, surely there’s room for this guy too.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Homeward bound, retracing our ride, with the Tucson mountains ahead.
Heart 5 Comment 2
Bruce LellmanIs that asphalt still hot and the lines still wet?
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Scott AndersonTo Bruce LellmanIt has that look, doesn’t it? But no, and no.
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Looking back east I see that the times, they are a-changin’. By mid-afternoon we’ll be seeing thunderstorms that will soon shake our windows and rattle our walls.
Heart 3 Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltAnd water for the spring wildflowers!
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
End of the road.
Heart 8 Comment 0

We spend a relaxed afternoon back at our casita, snug and dry inside as we listen to the fireworks outside.  I pack away the bikes for tomorrow’s return flight while Rachael lazes around on the couch, researching lodging possibilities for a tour we’ve been planning for later this spring.

We end the day by driving down to Old Town for a celebration dinner, at Downtown Kitchen & Cocktails.  We park our car in the same garage that tried to keep our car caged a few nights ago, confident that we’ve mastered its intricacies by now and could make a clean getaway.  

The meal is amazing, one of the best of the tour for sure.  Over the next hour we talk over the tour and promise each other that we’ll make our way back to Tucson some winter: maybe for a longer stay next time, and maybe sooner than later.

Afterwards we head back to the garage, stop at the payment kiosk, and are shocked to face a $77 parking fee.  Now what?  Reading the fine print on the screen though, we see we’re being billed for a four day stay.  Hmm - four days.  It must be the ticket from our first stay, which I’ve still been carrying around for some reason.  I look back in my billfold and find a second parking ticket, and we try that one instead.  $2 looks much more reasonable.  Good for a laugh, and a fitting end to our visit.

Time to put the toys back in their boxes.
Heart 3 Comment 0
While I’m slaving away breaking down the bikes, Rachael entertains herself researching lodging for an upcoming tour, in an undisclosed location.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Bravo, Team Anderson, if we do say so ourselves!
Heart 5 Comment 1
Ron SuchanekGreat job! It's been fun following youse guys again. Can't wait to see you at the Hostile Actors gathering later this month.
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
And why weren’t there more food photos in this journal? This is “Pan seared salmon swims into winter in Tucson”: salmon with sweet potatoes, sautéed apples and winter greens.
Heart 4 Comment 0
And this? “Braised lamb shank + Chili Colorado meet Three Sisters”. The three sisters are beans, corn and squash, a planting grouping favored by Native Americans in the region.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Yuck! We should have walked instead, obviously.
Heart 2 Comment 1
Ron SuchanekThat's like parking for a few hours in downtown Denver.
Reply to this comment
4 years ago

Ride stats today: 41 miles, 1000’; for the tour: 1,786 miles, 85,000’

Today's ride: 41 miles (66 km)
Total: 1,786 miles (2,874 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 11
Comment on this entry Comment 7
Bill ShaneyfeltLoved this part of your tour! Thanks for all the nature photos!
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Scott AndersonTo Bill ShaneyfeltThanks again, Bill. It was a relief to finally find a lizard for you. I’d about given up hope. I suspect you’ll like what’s up next for us after our break in Portland. Such a shame I can’t say more at this time, but stay tuned.
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Bill ShaneyfeltAh, yes. Timing is everything, and especially so in the desert. It is always good to vicariously take a trip there, even in the winter. Thanks.

I will be watching!
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Kathleen ClassenNow what am I going to read? After reading these entries I am looking forward to visiting Tucson with the bikes...once the Canadian dollar rebounds a little. Hopefully that might happen hehe.
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Bruce LellmanAnother great bike tour, writing and photos! You guys are amazing. You just go and go and must be the fittest humans on the planet. I can't wait to spend some time with you both.
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Jen RahnDitto on all the above! Your journal is always a highlight of my day.

I hope to see the Quest for Portland's Heritage Trees continue when you get back to the PNW!
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Scott AndersonTo Kathleen ClassenSo this is supposed to make us feel guilty? When is version 7.0 going to roll around? We’re tired of reading our own journal!
Reply to this comment
4 years ago